January 28, 2013

Globalstar Confirms February 5th Launch Date

Globalstar launchCOVINGTON, La., Jan. 25, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Globalstar, Inc. (OTCBB:GSAT) announced that its fourth launch of six second generation satellites has been confirmed for February 5, 2013 at the following time:

 

  • 10:20 p.m. Baikonur time
  • 08:20 p.m. Moscow time
  • 05:20 p.m. Paris time
  • 11:20 a.m. Eastern Standard Time
  • 10:20 a.m. Central Standard Time
  • 08:20 a.m. Pacific Standard Time

 

This will be the fourth and final launch from the Cosmodrome in Baikonur, Kazakhstan, completing Globalstar's plan to orbit 24 second-generation satellites. Globalstar has previously launched 18 second-generation satellites in launches that occurred on October 19, 2010, July 13, 2011 and December 28, 2011. Globalstar has placed into commercial service all of the previously launched second-generation satellites.


The February 5th launch is the last launch necessary to fully restore Globalstar's Duplex service to the high level of quality that Globalstar's customers have historically enjoyed. Globalstar's second-generation satellites were designed and manufactured by Thales Alenia Space with a service life of fifteen years, twice that of Globalstar's first-generation satellites.


Globalstar's launch services provider, Arianespace, will utilize the highly reliable Soyuz Fregat launch vehicle. Globalstar, in association with Arianespace, has previously completed eleven launches utilizing the Soyuz, which is credited with more than 1795 successful launches to date.


All six second-generation satellites for the fourth launch have been fueled and mated to the Dispenser, and the Upper Composite has been transferred to the assembly facility near the launch pad where it will be mated to the Soyuz. Members of Globalstar's executive management team, including Anthony Navarra, President of the Space Program, and L. Barbee Ponder, General Counsel and Vice President Regulatory Affairs, will attend the launch.
 

To view the latest images of the final launch preparations, please visit www.globalstar.com
 

Since the Globalstar service has not recovered 100%, Globalstar has developed an Optimum Satellite Availability Tool which will provide you with a list of windows, based on your geographic location, during the next four days when you will have a high probability of making a successful call. GMPCS recommends, If you need your satellite phone to work the first time, every time, then you should plan on purchasing an Iridium or IsatPhone Pro satellite phone.



Product Search

Customer LoginClose
    

Select a carrier to send an SMS message to:

Thuraya
Inmarsat
Iridium
Globalstar
Dealer Application

To apply as a Dealer, please complete fill out the
Dealer Application


GSA Contract Holder
 Home     Products     Rentals    Airtime     News     About Us    Support    Contact Us     Dealer Application
Network Innovations - ©2014  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Privacy Policy |  SiteMap
Espanol   Espanol